Travel ban : We won’t publish names of those banned – Presidency

The Federal Government said yesterday it had no plans to release the names of those on the travel ban placed on some 50 high profile Nigerians.

This came as outrage against the travel ban continued yesterday from presidential candidate of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar; Elder statesman and Yoruba leader, Chief Ayo Adebanjo; President of Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, Ayuba Wabba; Human Rights lawyer, Mr. Femi Falana, SAN; Yoruba socio-political organisation, Afenifere; Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project, SERAP; Middle Belt Movement for Justice and Peace, MBMJP, among others.

Second Republic lawmaker, Dr Junaid Mohammed; and National Chairman of the United Progressive Party, UPP, Chief Chekwas Okorie, however, gave thumbed up the ban, saying the measure would boost the ongoing war against graft.

Read Also  CAN meets Buhari, Atiku, others warns desperate politicians

Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, said in a statement last night,   ‘’On the so-called list you asked for confirmation, I want to confirm to you that we have not issued any list and we are not doing so.’’ He also said the present government of President Muhammadu Buhari, inherited the list from previous administrations.

Shehu said:  ‘’In the history of independent Nigeria, this is the first time any government is taking such a key decision to fight corruption”.

‘’EO 6 is not only revolutionary to the efforts to rid Nigeria of corruption but a manifestation of systemic changes that are required to make necessary adjustments as we carry on with the war against corruption”.

Read Also  If elected president, ASUU strike will end on my first day in office – Atiku

‘’The very essence of the order is to make for speedy trials and conclusion of graft cases. The order is not political and there is political gain behind its activation”.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: